London

Hey!

I wasn’t really sure what kind of post I should write about London as all I knew was that I definitely wanted to write post related to my school trip to London in any way shape or form … so I decided to tell you about five of the best and worst parts of the trip!

Best

image

  1. I would have to say the overall highlight of the trip was getting to spend time with my friends and just having such a laugh. Throughout the trip we didn’t stop laughing and for me that’s what made it so special and memorable. We laughed even when we were up far too early to have the most horrific shower of our lives – the room was flooded and that’s all I will say – and we even had fun when we had to eat out at an awful restaurant which burnt the chicken.
  2. This leads on to the next point which is when me and my friends played Cards Against Humanity, in our tiny allotted section of free time one day, it was the most fun game ever but equally the most disturbing and vile thing I have ever seen in my life! if you don’t know what it is its basically a card game where you are have black and white cards, in each round, one player asks a question from a black card, and everyone else answers with their funniest white card which have random, creepy and down right scary things written on them. I know it doesn’t sound it but its actually a hilarious game!
  3. Another amazing part of the trip … and technically the main reason for going to London … was when we went to see spectacular theatre performances! We saw High Society on the first night which was VERY AMERICAN not in a bad way its just the only way I can describe it; but it really was an amazing show with a great cast, wonderful music and most importantly a really good story with a perfect ending!!! Then the next day we saw King John in the Shakespeare Globe theatre, which to my surprise was very interesting and not as hard as I expected to understand the only down side was it was far too long and we had to stand through the whole thing. Later on that day we saw Peter Pan in Regents Park Open Air Theatre which was my favourite one by far!!! It was so magical and it was very different from any rendition of the classic Peter Pan I have ever seen but it was night time outside so it got bloody cold! Finally we saw The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time, this was also an amazing play as it was so emotional yet so funny at the same time and had a really good twist in the story. Also it was based on a book, that I bought as soon as I got home from the trip and I’m now half way through it and I highly recommend it to all of you!!!
  4. Also one of my favourite experiences of the trip to London was going shopping on Oxford street. I spent far too much money but I didn’t even care as I got to go to the Disney store where I had to buy a few soft toys for me and my niece, then we went to Lush and bought a bag full of amazingness, then we hunted down Forbidden Planet with the aid of Google maps where I bought lots of stuff related to Doctor Who, Marvel, Harry Potter and a fathers day present for my dad, and finally the addiction to buying London souvenirs was too real for me as I got 4 magnets, 2 key rings, a scarf, a notebook and a badge all with LONDON sorta things on them … totalling £100 … approximately … that also includes a couple of McDonald’s for lunch some days and every drink I bought when I was there!
  5. Finally I loved the feeling of being independent. It was so good to be able to arrange my own room and sort out when and where things were happening as well as just walking around with my friends when and where we wanted … but don’t get me wrong I missed and love my mum and dad very much!!!

Worst

image

*don’t associate this picture of the Peter Pan set & theatre with the title for the “worst” section as in fact Peter Pan was one of the best parts of the trip just was doting the pictures around instead of having them all at the end!

  1. THE TUBE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Well all I can say is that I will never by choice use the London underground again it was just far too scary, hot, crowded and had my worst nightmare escalators – its just the down ones that I’m petrified of – and they were stepper and longer than ever… Not to mention the fact the doors of the tube just close unexpectedly and without warning when people are still trying to clamber onto the carriage; my first hand experience with these doors went like this … my group was rushing to get on but we were not fast enough I was shoved on and thrown into another group of people from my school my friends arm was almost caught in the door and another person was almost fully trapped in the doors, so yeah we were scared for life.
  2. This links to the fact London was full of creepy people… from pick pockets to drunk people London had it all we were approached on various occasions by men wanting money, strange men just wandering round us and a drunk group of men and women shouting about their dog and singing a song to us. Then there was the pickpockets we saw a lot … there was the “bumper-into-er” this guys who would walk into people by accident and just happen to acquire their belongings the there was the “Gang” the name says it all really and we saw the best of them all the “hander-in-pocket-of-stranger-when-passing-in-the-street-er” basically a man walked beside this women and stole something out of her pocket when they were just crossing the road… thankfully it didn’t happen to me or anyone from my school.
  3. The mornings… I’m NOT a morning person so usually I have a while to adjust before I have to deal with other humans but there I had to be ready right away which was hard since every morning I slept in past my alarms! Then to make things worse as you would expect London was pretty warm so I was extremely hot so my usual make up routine was thrown out of the window the stuff just wouldn’t stay on my face… so I had to make sure i had cleansed and dried my face to perfection and kept all the windows open to assure my make up would go on as normal as possible… in the end it always did.
  4. On the train back to Glasgow the carriage Virgin assigned to our school the air-conditioning was broken .. so “despite their many efforts they couldn’t rectify the problem” …. yeah sure all they did was hand out luke-warm bottles of crap water whilst we were all sweating and baking in the oven they called a carriage for nearly five hours! Our only solace was taking a trip into the other sections of the train which were freezing cold in comparison!!!
  5. Overall the trip was one of the best things I have ever done so all these negatives don’t even matter as the actual worst part of the trip was going home … I had soo much fun and dream of one day going back to London on my own (without the school maybe just with friends kind of alone) It was extraordinary and I highly recommend a trip to London! I would love to live there one day 😄

 

image

image

image

.

image

image

image

There you go hope you enjoyed that and please remember to  like and comment; Have you ever been to London? Can you relate to anything I have said? or Would you like to go to London one day? Could you recommend anywhere else you have been that you enjoyed as I would love to hear your holiday stories?

Also don’t forget to give me a follow if you enjoy my posts!!!

Yours,

Fangirling Owl

XOXO

21 thoughts on “London

    • fangirlingowl says:

      Thanks! I think it’s because there was so many people from my school there – almost 30 – as if I was by myself or with my family or friends I could just focus on getting on myself rather than being lead around by teachers at the back of a large group! – yeah I’m sure it’s not that bad usually 😄

      Liked by 2 people

  1. mrsstrawberryblonde says:

    Glad you enjoyed most of your visit to London.

    The tube is always overcrowded, hot and smelly. But that’s part of London living and if you ever move down here, you’ll get used to it. You’ll hate it just as much, but you’ll accept that it’s just the way it is. 😉

    May I ask where in London you guys stayed? You said you saw quite a few dodgy people so I wonder where you set up camp. Sure, there are plenty of weird people in London, but I think you came across quite many of them.

    If you return to London with a friend or two any time soon, make sure you pay Camden Town a visit. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • fangirlingowl says:

      Thanks! Yeah I’m sure it’s just something over time will become more barable 😜 We stayed in Kensington but the dodgy people were either on the tube or on this street we were told was famous for pickpockets so I’m sure the rest of London is perfectly normal 😄 Ohh yeah I would definitely love to go there heard great things 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  2. vivalaViv says:

    Thank you for sharing your experience here. I have to say that out of all the large cities I’ve visited, I’m not a big fan of London. Oh well, I only had two short stays in the past.., perhaps I should visit it again?!!!

    Vivienne X

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment